This is the "A-Z List" page of the "A-Z Resource List" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Libraries

Research Guides

This guide contains a full list of resources organized by name.
Last Updated: Feb 26, 2014 URL: http://libguides.yorktech.com/A-Z Print Guide RSS Updates

A-Z List Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Logging in Off-Campus

The databases may prompt you for a Barcode Number.

Your barcode number is either:

  • the 13-digit number on the back of your OLD student ID
  • the prefix "003996" + your seven digit student ID

A

  • Academic Search Alumni Edition  Icon
    EBSCO. Database provides full text for nearly 2,400 journals as well as indexing and abstracting for more than 7,370 journals in nearly every area of academic study including biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion and theology. Provided by PASCAL.
  • Academic Search Complete  Icon
    EBSCO. A multi-disciplinary database with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Provided by PASCAL.
  • Academic Search Premier  Icon
    EBSCO. Access academic journals, magazines, newspapers, and other published resources covering many subject areas. Includes peer-reviewed publications. Provided by PASCAL. APA MLA Tutorials
  • Agricola  Icon
    EBSCO. U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library database includes more than 4.8 million citations from journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, agricultural engineering and technology and earth and environmental sciences. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.
  • All Area Codes
    Free area code database.
  • Alt HealthWatch  Icon
    EBSCO. This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness with full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.
  • Annenberg Media
    Advancing excellent teaching in American schools through the development and distribution of multimedia resources for teaching and learning is the goal of Annenberg Media.
  • AP NewsMonitor Collection  Icon
    EBSCO. Full-text database contains news from the Associated Press. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.
  • Applied Science and Technology Full Text  Icon
    H.W. Wilson. Full text database covering a wide variety of applied science specialties, including acoustics, aeronautics, neural networks, nuclear & civil engineering from leading trade and industrial journals, professional and technical society journals, specialized subject periodicals, buyers’ guides, directories and conference proceedings. Provided through EBSCO by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.
  • Art Full Text  Icon
    EBSCO. Comprehensive resource for art information featuring full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals, high-quality indexing and abstracting of over 600 periodicals, including 280 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracting of over 13,000 art dissertations. Indexing of almost 200,000 art reproductions provides examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists. The database covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture, and also includes a database-specific thesaurus. Provided by PASCAL.
  • Associates Programs Source  Icon
    EBSCO. This database contains nearly 1,000 full-text journals as well as 11 full-text books, and is designed specifically for the research needs of two-year colleges, and provides comprehensive coverage of the most relevant associates program level content. Provided by PASCAL.
  • Auto Repair Reference Center  Icon
    EBSCO. This database provides information for vehicle-specific diagnostic troubleshooting, maintenance, and technical service bulletins. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.

B

  • Biography in Context  Icon
    Gale. Access biographies from scholarly resources. Includes full-text articles from hundreds of serials. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library. APA MLA
  • Biography Index Past and Present  Icon
    H.W. Wilson. Comprehensive index of biographies of individuals associated with a variety of subjects including art history & criticism, architecture & architectural history, archaeology, antiques, museum studies, graphic arts, industrial design, landscape architecture, interior design, folk art, painting, photography, pottery, sculpture, decorative arts, costume design, television and video, motion pictures, advertising art, non-western art, textiles and much more. Provided through EBSCO by PASCAL.
  • Biography Reference Bank  Icon
    H.W. Wilson. Database contains biographical full-text articles, page images, and abstracts from magazines and journals for more than 600,000 individuals. Provided through EBSCO by PASCAL.
  • Biological & Agricultural Index Plus  Icon
    H.W. Wilson. Database contains full text of articles from over 100 journals dating back to 1997, as well as indexing and abstracts of more than 380 publications. Subject coverage includes agriculture & agricultural research, atmospheric science, biochemistry, biology, biotechnology, botany, chemistry, environmental science, geology, marine biology microbiology, physics and much more. Provided through EBSCO by PASCAL.
  • Bloom's Literary Reference Online  Icon
    Facts on File. Extensive database includes literary criticism by Harold Bloom and other noted scholars, information on authors, characters, literary topics, themes, genres and movements. Features include image and video galleries, timeline and dictionary. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.
  • Book Review Digest Plus  Icon
    H.W. Wilson. Database contains book reviews on a wide range of topics, from a variety of sources including serious academic works. Provided through EBSCO by PASCAL.
  • BrainPOP Jr.  Icon
    Animated Educational Site for Kids. Using animated characters to help introduce new topics and illustrate complex concepts, content is mapped to Common Core and aligned to academic standards. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.
  • Britannica Online Academic Edition  
      
      Icon
    Access encyclopedic entries on a variety of subjects, as well as Britannica's World Data Analyst. Provided by DISCUS -South Carolina's Virtual Library. APA MLA
  • Britannica Online Academic Edition (for off-campus users)  
      
      Icon
    Access encyclopedic entries on a variety of subjects, as well as Britannica's World Data Analyst. Provided by DISCUS -South Carolina's Virtual Library. APA MLA
  • Business Abstracts with Full Text  Icon
    H.W. Wilson. Comprehensive database contains full-text articles from hundreds of key publications, and provides access to product evaluations, interviews, biographical sketches, corporate profiles, obituaries, surveys, statistical rankings, book reviews and reports from associations, societies, trade shows, conferences and more. Provided through EBSCO by PASCAL.
  • Business Searching Interface
    EBSCO. Allows user to search Business Source Premier and Reginal Business News in one easy search.
  • Business Source Alumni Edition  Icon
    EBSCO. Database provides nearly 1,350 full-text business magazines and journals, of which over 650 are peer-reviewed, in nearly every area of business including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, econometrics, economics and more. Includes country economic reports, industry reports, market research reports, company profiles and more. Provided by PASCAL.
  • Business Source Complete  Icon
    EBSCO. Database includes full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. Provided by PASCAL.
  • Business Source Premier  Icon  Icon
    EBSCO. Access business related journals, magazines, newspapers, and other published resources. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library in partnership with PASCAL. APA MLA Tutorials

C

  • Career eBook Collection  Icon
    EBSCO. Customized collection of more than 250 electronic books focused on career selection, resume and cover letter writing, interviewing, changing careers, test-taking strategies and more. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.
  • ChiltonLibrary  Icon
    ChiltonLibrary provides exclusive photographs, diagnostics designed by instructors, step-by-step repair procedures, Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM) maintenance schedules, wiring diagrams, recalls and Technical Service Bulletins (TSBs) for automobiles and light trucks in one easy-to-use web site. Since this library subscribes to ChiltonLibrary, you are now equipped with decades of data to maintain your vehicle. Just begin by choosing a vehicle at the left and a subject above.
  • Chronicle of Higher Education Campus Ed.  
      
    News, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.
  • CIA World Factbook
    The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
  • CINAHL Plus with Full Text  Icon
    EBSCO. Access full-text entries from hundreds of nursing and allied health journals. Also includes legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, and clinical trials. Provided by PASCAL. APA MLA Tutorials
  • Computer Source  Icon
    EBSCO. Access the latest information and current trends in high technology. Provided by PASCAL. APA MLA Tutorials
  • Consumer Health Complete  Icon  Icon
    EBSCO. Provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. This full-text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men’s & women's health, etc. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library in partnership with PASCAL.
  • Credo Reference  Icon
    Access hundreds of full-text reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, books of quotations, and other subject-specific titles. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library. APA MLA
  • Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text  Icon
    EBSCO. Full-text database of criminology and criminal justice journals from around the world, as well as full-text books and monographs. Provided by PASCAL.
  • CultureGrams  
      
      Icon
    Proquest. Access concise cultural and statistical snapshots of U.S. states, Canadian provinces, and countries of the world. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.
  • CultureGrams (for off campus users)  
      
      Icon
    Proquest. Access concise cultural and statistical snapshots of U.S. states, Canadian provinces, and countries of the world. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.
  • Current Biography Illustrated  Icon
    H.W. Wilson. Database contains accurate, up-to-date biographies drawing information from newspaper articles, magazine articles and books, and includes more than 19,500 images of celebrities, politicians, business people, writers, actors, sports figures, artists, scientists, and many others. Provided through EBSCO by PASCAL.

D

  • Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source
    EBSCO. Full-text journals and monographs in theDental and Oral Sciences discipline. Includes backfiles of indexing, abstracts and full text spanning dozens of years for many publications.

E

  • EBSCOHost Research Databases  Icon
    Search multiple databases in many subjects including science, education, arts, social sciences, computer science and engineering, law, business, communications and more. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.
  • EBSCO eBooks  Icon
    Over 70,000 eBooks on varied subjects. Users can access the full text of eBooks from their computer. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.
  • Education Full Text  Icon
    H.W. Wilson. Provides full text of articles from over 350 journals. Includes coverage of special education, adult education, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods and much more. Provided through EBSCO by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.
  • Enciclopedia Juvenil (Spanish)  
      
    Britannica's children's encyclopedia in Spanish.
  • Enciclopedia Juvenil (Spanish) (for off campus users)  
      
      Icon
    Britannica's children's encyclopedia in Spanish.
  • Entrepreneurial Studies Source  Icon
    EBSCO. Database provides full text for more than 125 key periodicals, 135 reference books, case studies, thousands of company profiles and over 600 videos with transcripts and related articles relevant to entrepreneurship and small business. Provided by PASCAL.
  • ERIC  Icon
    EBSCO. Access full-text educational digests as well as citations and abstracts from educational journals. Provided by PASCAL. APA MLA Tutorials
  • Escolar (Spanish)  
      
      Icon
    Britannica Online School is an online learning platform in Spanish for students aged 6 to 12 years of age. Students enrich their learning through interactive games, searches, videos, multimedia, maps and many other resources. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.
  • Escolar (Spanish) (for off campus use)  
      
      Icon
    Britannica Online School is an online learning platform in Spanish for students aged 6 to 12 years of age. Students enrich their learning through interactive games, searches, videos, multimedia, maps and many other resources. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.
  • Essay and General Literature Index  Icon
    H.W. Wilson. Index of more than 320 single and multi-authored volumes with more than 20 selected annuals and serial publications of collections of essays and miscellaneous works from the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. Provided through EBSCO by PASCAL.
  • European Views of the Americas: 1493 to1750  Icon
    EBSCO. Created from “European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750,” this authoritative bibliography contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.

F

  • Ferguson's Career Guidance Center  
      
      Icon
    Facts on File. Access detailed profiles of thousands of today's most popular jobs in a variety of industries. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.
  • Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text  Icon
    EBSCO. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. Provided by PASCAL.
  • Films on Demand Streaming Media  
      
    Infobase. A collection of educational films on topics as varied as history, education, health, and communication.
  • Free Medical Journals
    Over the next years, the most important medical journals will be available online, free and in full-text. The unrestricted access to scientific knowledge - the new standard in medical publishing - will have a major impact on medical practice. over 50 free medical journals. You will need to register, but it's free.
  • Freedocumentaries
    Freedocumentaries.org streams full-length documentary films free of charge, with no registration needed. The films are gathered by researchers to bring thought-provoking, educational, and entertaining documentaries to anyone with a high-speed internet connection.
  • Fuente Academica  Icon
    EBSCO. More than 450 scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain covering many subjects with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion and sociology. Provided by PASCAL.
  • Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia  Icon
    EBSCO. Access encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas. Provided by PASCAL. APA MLA Tutorials

G

  • General Science Full Text  Icon
    H.W. Wilson. This database provides full text from more than 100 periodicals dating as far back as 1995, in addition to indexing and abstracts for nearly 300 periodicals back to 1984. Includes graphs, charts, diagrams, photos and illustrations. Provided through EBSCO by PASCAL.
  • GreenFILE  Icon  Icon
    EBSCO. Information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library in partnership with PASCAL. Tutorials

H

  • Health Source - Consumer Edition  Icon  Icon
    EBSCO. Access consumer health serials. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library in partnership with PASCAL. Tutorials
  • Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition  Icon  Icon
    EBSCO. Access medical related journals, magazines, newspapers, and other published resources. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library in partnership with PASCAL. APA MLA Tutorials
  • Historic American Newspapers  Icon
    Search America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.
  • History Reference Center  Icon  Icon
    EBSCO. Full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library in partnership with PASCAL.
  • Hospitality and Tourism Complete  Icon
    EBSCO. Full text for more than 530 publications, including periodicals, company & country reports, and books, including scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. Provided by PASCAL.
  • Humanities Full Text  Icon
    H.W. Wilson. Full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals—of which 470 are peer-reviewed—dating as far back as 1984. The database provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more. Provided through EBSCO by PASCAL.

I

  • Index to Legal Periodicals & Books Full Text  Icon
    H.W. Wilson. An excellent resource for attorneys, educators, business people, law librarians, students, paralegals and others involved with the law with complete coverage of the most important English-language legal information, including access to scholarly articles, symposia, jurisdictional surveys, court decisions, legislation, books, book reviews and more. Provided through EBSCO by PASCAL.
  • Institute of Physics  Icon
    Full text of the Institute of Physics journal archives from 1874 to 1998. Provided by PASCAL.
  • International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text  Icon
    EBSCO. Fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated databank of over 60,000 journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries. Provided by PASCAL.
  • International Business Etiquette and Manners
    Etiquette, manners, and cross cultural, or intercultural communication have become critical elements required for all International and Global Business executives, managers, and employees. As international, multinational, transnational, multi domestic, and global business continues to expand and bring people closer, the most important element of successful business outcomes may be the appreciation and respect for regional, country, and cultural differences - known as cultural diversity.
  • International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center  Icon
    EBSCO. This database offers information on virtually every dimension of security & counter-terrorism and is designed to inform the analysis process, as well as enhance the general understanding of security and terrorism-related issues. ISCTRC provides a comprehensive Open Source Intelligence Resource for analysts, risk management professionals, and students. Content includes hundreds of full text journals and periodicals, hundreds of thousands of selected articles, news feeds, reports, summaries, books, FAQs, and proprietary Background Information Summaries that pertain to terrorism and security. Provided by PASCAL.
  • ipl2: Information You Can Trust
    Authoritative resource merges the collections of the Internet Public Library and the Librarians' Internet Index websites and is hosted by Drexel University's College of Information Science and Technology. Subjects include arts and humanities, business, computers, education, medical sciences, law, government and political science, science and technology, and social sciences. Also provides access to newspapers and magazines from around the world.

J

  • Jewish Studies Source  Icon
    EBSCO. Contains full-text for leading academic journals within the discipline, monographs, related articles from major periodicals and newspapers, and over 1600 biographies of leading historical and contemporary Jews, with 123 full-text journals & magazines, including 66 that are unavailable from Academic Search™. It also contains the entire Jewish Telegraphic Agency database from 1922 to present. Provided by PASCAL.

K

  • Kids InfoBits  Icon
    Gale. Information designed for researchers in Kindergarten through grade 5. Useful for early education majors. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.

L

  • LearningExpress Library - Requires free registration  Icon
    Learning Express. Access a comprehensive collection of test-preparation tools, skill-building materials, and other career and life skills resources. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.
  • Library Literature & Information Science Full Text  Icon
    H.W. Wilson. Information on librarianship and information management. Database provides indexing and abstracting of over 400 journals, including key library and information science periodicals, and full-text coverage of over 170 journals, and topics include automation, cataloging, censorship, circulation procedures, classification, copyright legislation, government aid, library associations and conferences, library equipment and supplies, personnel administration, preservation of materials, and more. Coverage reaches as far back as 1980. Provide by PASCAL.
  • Library Literature & Information Science Index  Icon  Icon
    H.W. Wilson. Information on librarianship and information management. Database provides cover-to-cover indexing of over 400 journals, including key library and information science periodicals, and topics include automation, cataloging, censorship, circulation procedures, classification, copyright legislation, government aid, library associations and conferences, library equipment and supplies, personnel administration, preservation of materials, and more. Coverage reaches as far back as 1980. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library in partnership with PASCAL.
  • Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)  Icon  Icon
    EBSCO. Information on librarianship and information management. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library in partnership with PASCAL.
  • Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full Text  Icon
    EBSCO. Information on librarianship and information management. Database indexes more than 560 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. It also contains full text for more than 330 journals and coverage extends back as far as the mid-1960s. Provided by PASCAL.
  • Library of Congress Webcasts
    Visitors can scan through a complete list of all 300+ web casts, or browse a thematic list that organizes the talks into areas such as religion, government, and education. The Library's National Digital Library Program is to offer broad public access to a wide range of historical and cultural documents as a contribution to education and lifelong learning. The Library of Congress presents these documents as part of the record of the past. These primary historical documents reflect the attitudes, perspectives, and beliefs of different times.
  • Liebert  
      
    Provides peer-reviewed journals, books, and trade magazines in the most promising areas of biotechnology, biomedical research/life sciences, clinical medicine and surgery, alternative and complementary medicine, law, philanthropy, environmental science and sustainability.
  • Literary Reference Center  Icon
    EBSCO. Full-text database of more than 35,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews; nearly 100,000 articles/essays of literary criticism; more than 252,000 author biographies (including more than 22,000 in-depth bios); 450 literary journals; more than 693,000 book reviews; more than 78,400 classic and contemporary poems; more than 19,700 classic and contemporary short stories; more than 6,600 author interviews; more than 8,200 classic texts; and much more. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.
  • Literature Resource Center  Icon
    Gale. Access author biographies and summaries/critical analyses of literary works from every age and literary discipline. Provided by PASCAL. APA MLA
  • Literature Resources from Gale  Icon
    Gale: Provides a search environment in which you can search several of your library's literature databases at the same time, in a single interface designed specifically for Literature research. Provided by PASCAL.

M

  • MAS Ultra -- School Edition  Icon  Icon
    EBSCO. Information designed for researchers in high school. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library in partnership with PASCAL. Tutorials
  • MasterFile Premier  Icon  Icon
    EBSCO. Database contains full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more, as well as full text of more than 500 reference books, over 107,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library in partnership with PASCAL.
  • MEDLINE  Icon  Icon
    EBSCO. Access authoritative medical information. Most entries are in citation or abstract format. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library in partnership with PASCAL. APA MLA Tutorials
  • MEDLINE with Full Text  Icon
    EBSCO. Database provides the authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences found on MEDLINE, plus full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Provided by PASCAL.
  • Middle Search Plus  Icon  Icon
    EBSCO. Database contains full text for more than 150 popular middle school magazines, and all full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays, as well as primary source documents, reference books, and thousands of relevant photos, maps and flags. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library in partnership with PASCAL.
  • Military & Government Collection  Icon  Icon
    EBSCO. Access information pertaining to all branches of the U.S. military and government. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library in partnership with PASCAL. APA MLA Tutorials
  • MLA Directory of Periodicals  Icon
    EBSCO: Contains information on over 6,000 journals and book series that fall within the scope of the MLA International Bibliography. Provided by PASCAL.
  • MLA International Bibliography  Icon
    EBSCO. Access citations and abstracts from scholarly journals, books and dissertations. Provided by PASCAL. MLA Tutorials

N

  • NBC Learn
    NBC Learn is a rich, dynamic, and innovative resource that provides thousands of historic news reports, current events stories, original content, primary source documents, and other digital media specifically designed to help teach and engage students of all levels and abilities.
  • Newspaper Source Plus  Icon
    EBSCO. Database provides more than 38 million full-text articles and more than 1,000 full-text newspapers, including Christian Science Monitor, San Francisco Chronicle, The Sydney Morning Herald (Australia), The Times (UK), Toronto Star, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times (DC) and others. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.
  • Nursing Resource Center  Icon
    Gale. Access serial articles, animated depictions of the human anatomy, and reference works. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library. APA MLA
  • NoveList K-8 Plus  Icon
    EBSCO. Expert reading recommendations from librarians and school media specialists help parents, teachers, and librarians improve literacy, connect reading across curricular areas, teach reading and writing concepts, and engage young readers with fiction and nonfiction titles. Also provides connections to curriculum requirements for reading, listening, and writing, and specialized resources for parents, teachers and librarians including BookTalks, Curricular Connection articles, premade lists for young readers (Recommended Reads) and for teachers (Grab and Go Book Lists), and a Teaching with Books section. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.
  • NoveList Plus  Icon
    EBSCO. Reading recommendations from professional librarians for fiction and nonfiction titles for all ages and read-alikes for every title, author, and series. Includes book discussion guides, thematic book lists, and reading and book-oriented articles. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.

O

  • Occupatonal Outlook Handbook
    Easy to use snapshots of careers from the U. S. Department of Labor and Statistics Website.
  • One Place SC
    SC ETV's K-12 Education Web Portal that includes ETV’s Collaborative web resources, StreamlineSC, ITV and ETV Programs, Knowitall, PBS Kids, Teachers’ Domain, Anneberg Media, DISCUS, PBS Teachers, ETV TV Guide and District TV Guide, and benefits teachers and future teachers by providing resources conveniently located, using one user name, one password and one-stop searching. Request the access code from your librarian.
  • Online Books Page
    The Online Books Page was founded, and is edited, by John Mark Ockerbloom, He is a digital library planner and researcher at the University of Pennsylvania. He is solely responsible for the content of the site. The site is hosted by the University of Pennsylvania Libraries, who provide the server, disk space, and network bandwidth for the site. They also employ the editor, and support him in his various digital library activities. The online books listed on this page have been authored, placed online, and hosted, by a wide variety of individuals and groups throughout the world (and throughout history!).
  • Opposing Viewpoints In Context + Critical Thinking  
      
      Icon
    Gale. Access information on current social and controversial issues from books, serials, newspapers, statistical resources, and more. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library. APA MLA

P

  • Play Index  Icon
    H.W. Wilson. Database covers the works of contemporary playwrights, including new editions and translations, citations to approximately 31,000 plays–published individually or in collections–dating from 1949 to present time and over 600 monologues for auditions or course assignments. Descriptive annotations summarize plots and indicate musical requirements. Provided through EBSCO by PASCAL.
  • Points of View Reference Center  Icon
    EBSCO. Full-text database contains articles and essays that present multiple viewpoints on hundreds of topics. Includes guides to writing position papers, develop arguments and debate issues. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.
  • Political Science Complete  Icon
    EBSCO. Database contains full-text articles from more than 530 journals, and indexing and abstracts from over 2,900 journals. Topics include comparative politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, law and legislation, non-governmental organizations, and political theory. Provided by PASCAL.
  • PowerSearch  Icon
    Gale: Combined searching through a variety a products.
  • Primary Search  Icon  Icon
    EBSCO. Full text of popular magazines for elementary school research. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library in partnership with PASCAL. Tutorials
  • Professional Development Collection  Icon  Icon
    EBSCO. Database includes full text for more than 520 high-quality education journals including: Booklist, Education, Education Digest, Education Week, Educational Leadership, High School Journal, Journal of Education, Journal of Educational Research, School Library Journal, and many others. This database also contains nearly 230 educational reports. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library in partnership with PASCAL.
  • Project Guttenberg
    Project Gutenberg offers over 42,000 free ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.
  • Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection  Icon  Icon
    EBSCO. Access publications covering behavior, psychiatry, psychology, mental health, and more. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library in partnership with PASCAL. APA MLA Tutorials
  • PubMed
    Internet resource. PubMed comprises more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Q

R

  • Readers' Guide Full Text Mega  Icon
    H.W. Wilson. This comprehensive tool for educators, students and researchers provides comprehensive current events coverage, curriculum support and access to quality periodicals with searchable full text articles from over 250 journals as far back as 1994, PDF page images of articles with illustrations, photographs, and other graphical content from the original article, and indexing of over 450 periodicals as far back as 1983. Provided through EBSCO by PASCAL.
  • Regional Business News  Icon  Icon
    EBSCO. Access full-text coverage from regional U.S. business journals, newspapers and newswires. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library in partnership with PASCAL. APA MLA Tutorials
  • Religion and Philosophy Collection  Icon  Icon
    EBSCO. With more than 300 full-text journals, this comprehensive database covers topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library in partnership with PASCAL.
  • Rittenhouse R2 eBooks  
      
    Rittenhouse: eBooks for the Nursing and Allied Health field.

S

  • Safari Tech Books  
      
    Proquest: Digital library providing over 12,400 technology, digital media and business books and videos online.
  • Salem Health ebooks
    Access the full-text of Salem Press award-winning health reference works.
  • Salem History ebooks
    Salem Press. Access the full text of science and forensics reference works.
  • Salem Literature ebooks
    Access the full-text of Salem Press award-winning literature reference works.
  • Salem Science ebooks
    Access the full-text of Salem Press award-winning history reference works.
  • Science Reference Center  Icon  Icon
    EBSCO. Comprehensive research database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. and covers topics including biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library in partnership with PASCAL.
  • SCOIS
    • SCOIS York Technical College SCOIS User Guide 2012-2013. SCOIS contains career assessment tools, aids for exploring careers, and information on schools of higher education.
  • Searchasaurus  Icon  Icon
    EBSCO. An animated search interface with a dinosaur theme for users in primary education and their teachers. Includes information from The American Heritage Children's Dictionary and Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia. Also includes an Image Collection that contains over 470,000 dynamic and educational images from quality licensed image sources. Teacher resources include links to Curriculum Standards, education databases, and U.S. Department of Education websites. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library in partnership with PASCAL.
  • Short Story Index  Icon
    H.W. Wilson. Index of all the important collections and anthologies of short stories that are published each year in all literary genres. Approximately 200+ books and 3,000-4,000 chapters/stories are indexed per year. Provided through EBSCO by PASCAL.
  • Small Business Reference Center  Icon  Icon
    EBSCO. This resource offers a wide variety of information on small business and entrepreneurial subject areas, common business types, a help and advice section, and provides information on how to create business plans that lead to successful funding. Business videos provide critical information for business owners: interviews, ‘lessons learned’ features, lectures and ‘how to’ videos help foster success in all aspects of managing a business. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library in partnership with PASCAL.
  • Social Sciences Full Text  Icon
    H.W. Wilson. Full-text database provides articles from hundreds of journals, covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences. Provided through EBSCO by PASCAL.
  • Student Research Center: High School  Icon  Icon
    EBSCO. A search interface designed for high school students and their teachers that provides access to magazines, newspapers, biographies, country reports, film & video, the New Oxford American Dictionary, and the Columbia Encyclopedia. Teacher resources include links to Curriculum Standards, education databases, and U.S. Department of Education websites. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library in partnership with PASCAL.
  • Student Research Center: Middle School  Icon  Icon
    EBSCO. A search interface designed for middle school students and their teachers that provides access to magazines, newspapers, biographies, country reports, film & video, the New Oxford American Dictionary, and the Columbia Encyclopedia. Teacher resources include links to Curriculum Standards, education databases, and U.S. Department of Education websites. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library in partnership with PASCAL.
  • Student Resources In Context  Icon
    Gale. Database provides multiple resources on core subjects including Science, Literature,and History with 79,000 reference articles from publications like American Decades, 15 million periodical and newspaper articles from the New York Times, U.S. News and World Report, and many others, 4,200 primary sources, 100,000 multimedia records, including charts, graphs, maps and tables, and video and audio content from NBC, NPR and many other respected sources.
  • StudySC  Icon
    A website that provides online content to support South Carolina-specific curriculum standards. Created by the South Carolina State Library, this site is loaded with South Carolina-specific web resources for K-12 homework help, projects, and more. StudySC will also provide teachers with lesson plans and other content to support classroom activities. From artist biographies to Native American tribes and Civil War timelines, get it all at StudySC. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.

T

  • Teacher Reference Center  Icon
    EBSCO. Database provides indexing and abstracts for 280 periodicals, the majority of which are peer-reviewed. Topics include: Assessment, Best Practices, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Elementary Education, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, School Administration, Science & Mathematics, and Teacher Education. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library.
  • Teacher's Domain  
      
    A free digital media service for educational use from public broadcasting and its partners.
  • TED
    On TED.com the best talks and performances from TED and partners are available to the world, for free. More than 1500 TED Talks are now available, with more added each week. All of the talks are subtitled in English, and many in other languages, too. These videos are released under a Creative Commons BY-NC-ND license, so they can be freely shared and reposted.
  • Testing & Education Reference Center  Icon
    A start-to-finish resource with all the information and support materials needed to make informed, confident decisions to shape the rest of your life. Offeres Test Preparation and eBooks.
  • Thinkfinity
    Offers free K-12 standards-based lesson plans across many disciplines including art, economics, humanities, mathematics, science and geography. Thinkfinity is the Verizon Foundation’s free online professional learning community, providing access to over 60,000 educators and experts in curriculum enhancement, along with thousands of award-winning digital resources for K-12 — aligned to state standards and the common core.
  • TOPICsearch  Icon  Icon
    EBSCO. Full-text current events database contains over 140,000 articles including controversial opinions and viewpoints from nearly 260 diverse sources including international newspapers, periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library in partnership with PASCAL.

U

V

  • Vocational and Career Collection  Icon  Icon
    EBSCO. Designed for vocational and technical libraries servicing high schools, community colleges, trade institutions and the general public, this database provides full text coverage for nearly 340 trade and industry-related periodicals. Provided by DISCUS -South Carolina's Virtual Library in partnership with PASCAL.
  • Vocational Biographies  
      
    Vocational Biographies: Virtually career-shadow up to 1,001 persons from across America.

W

  • Westlaw
    Database for legal research, Campus Research is an easy-to-use online research service that provides college and university students with access to a comprehensive collection of news and business information and law-related resources. Campus Research’s easy-to-use interface is divided into two content tabs, News & Business and Law.

  • Women's Studies International  Icon
    EBSCO. Database covers the core disciplines in women's studies and includes more than 871,000 records from before 1972 to the present. Provided by PASCAL.
  • World Data Analyst  
      
    Britannica. Country snapshots, statistical reports, and customizable comparisons between countries across the globe. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library. APA MLA
  • World Data Analyst (for off campus users)  
      
      Icon
    Britannica. Country snapshots, statistical reports, and customizable comparisons between countries across the globe. Provided by DISCUS - South Carolina's Virtual Library. APA MLA

X

Y

Z

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip